The capital of Blue and White

Virtual Travel. Written by Lidia Kamendatyan

The immensity of the Aegean sea and the olive trees, colorful buildings and narrow streets are my description for the capital of blue and white. I will never be able to fully get satisfied from Athens and the Greek islands. How can you surfeit from a place that never stops surprising you? Syntagma, Acropolis, Parthenon, Odeon of Herodes Atticus and the Tower of the Winds are the ancient magical places of the rebuilt city for me. Travel memories always awake some type of delight in me to share.

Greece is a country of sun, that brings peace and lightness. Now that only the Coronavirus has the ability to freely go from one country to another, we will virtually travel to my favorite country: Greece.

First, we’ll go to Athens, pass the old and new buildings, we’ll take the high-speed train and will go to Acropolis by sea. There are no tourists in once crowded Acropolis, and we’ll imagine as if we are goddesses and will tour around the citadel that was deserted because of the epidemic. I suggest not wasting any chance and go for a boat ride. We’ll give a whole day to touring around the Dodecanese islands, to enjoy the freshening smell of the Aegean and the Mediterranean Sea.

There are more than fifty islands in Dodecanese archipelago, I’ve been to three of them, so we’ll go there too.

You can see a lemon tree on every step you take in Poros, there’s even a lemon tree forest which has an insane scent. Beautiful white tower, neat streets and sheer sea. Hydra is the most different island that I’ve seen. We’ll have to use donkeys for transportation purposes and that’s the singularity of this island. Aegina impressed me as an island of narrow streets, white prayer houses and spacious ports.

The islands are beautiful and wonderful in themselves and I am able to talk about them for a long-long time. I hope the borders will soon be open, life will go on with its new flow and everything will go in its way. You should definitely travel to the capital of white and blue. Admire the olive trees and colorful buildings.

 

 

Leave a comment